NISO Plus scholarships are intended for anyone who feels that their voice and views are currently under-represented in libraries, vendors, publishers, or other parts of the information ecosystem. This program is part of our ongoing efforts to improve diversity, equity, and inclusion in our community.

We are delighted to announce that, with the generous support of Digital Science, we are now inviting applications for our NISO Plus 2021 scholarship program. Building on the success of our experience with the first cohort of NISO Plus scholarship winners, we will again be encouraging successful applicants to engage fully with NISO and our community — not just at the NISO Plus conference, but also throughout the year.

If you’re interested in applying, or know someone who is, please use this form to tell us why you’d like to be a NISO Plus scholarship winner. As well as providing brief personal and professional information, you’ll be asked to tell us why you would like to be considered for this scholarship, including information about which aspect of the scholarly communications/ information community you are involved with, as well as the different perspective you would bring as a participant in the NISO Plus community (for example, because your job function or demographic is typically under-represented, or not represented, at industry conferences).

Applications are open now through December 21, 2020, and we will inform applicants of the Committee’s decision by January 22, 2021. 

Successful applicants will be eligible for:

  • Free registration for NISO Plus 2021 (a virtual conference taking place on February 22-25, 2021) 
  • Networking opportunities with NISO Plus Board members, staff, and other past and present scholarship winners
  • Free registration for all NISO educational webinars in 2021
  • Opportunities to volunteer for NISO committees and groups
  • And more!

All submissions will be reviewed by the NISO Plus Scholarships Committee, which includes representatives from the NISO staff, Board, Planning Committee, and current scholarship winners, as follows:

  • Kimberly Arleth, American Psychological Association (USA)
  • Todd Carpenter, NISO (USA)
  • Jason Griffey, NISO (USA)
  • Sandy Hirsh, San Jose State University (USA)
  • Rebecca Macleod, Harvard Data Science Review (USA)
  • Gabi Mejias, ORCID (Germany)
  • CK Ramaiah, Pondicherry University (India)
  • Rhonda Ross, American Chemical Society (USA)
  • Gabi Rundle, Emerald Publishing (UK)
  • Peter Simon, NewsBank, Inc (USA)
  • Tracy Sutherland, Oberlin College (USA)
  • Carolina Tanigushi, SciELO (Brazil)

Our thanks to them all!