Believe it or not, there’s less than six months to go till NISO Plus 2022! Time for us to start the planning process in earnest — and who better to help than our amazing Planning Committee? We are so lucky to once again have the support of a diverse group of volunteers from around the world — a mix of familiar faces from last year and new ones for this year. They hail from 12 countries and all continents (except Antarctica) and from organizations large and small, commercial and not-for-profit, from across the information community — librarians, publishers, service and infrastructure providers, and more. Among other things, they’ll be helping us identify topics and speakers, reviewing session proposals (more on that in the coming weeks), and acting as a sounding board as we work through the conference schedule, platforms, and other logistics.

Having just held the second of our two kickoff meetings for the Planning Committee, now seems like the perfect time to introduce them all to you…

  • Melroy Almeida — Australian Access Federation and 2021 Scholarship Winner (Australia)
  • Lieke Boerefijn — CABI and 2021 Scholarship Winner (The Netherlands)
  • Kath Burton — Routledge/Taylor & Francis/Informa (UK)
  • Amy Castillo — Tarleton College and 2021 Scholarship Winner (USA)
  • Chris Chan — Hong Kong Baptist University (Hong Kong)
  • Helena Cousijn — DataCite (The Netherlands)
  • Jane Daniels — Cardiff Metropolitan University (UK)
  • Stephanie Dawson — ScienceOpen (Germany)
  • Lola Estelle — SPIE (USA)
  • Jason Friedman — Canadian Research Knowledge Network (Canada)
  • Sandy Hirsh — San Jose State University (USA)
  • Jason Hu — Taylor & Francis (China)
  • Salwa Ismail — University of California Berkeley and NISO Board Member (USA)
  • Leslie Johnston — National Archives and Records Administration (USA)
  • Qiana Johnson — Northwestern University and 2020 Scholarship Winner (USA)
  • Chris Leonard — Cactus Communications (UK)
  • Alex Mendonca — SciELO (Brazil)
  • Alison O’Connell — HighWire (USA)
  • Yasushi Ogasaka — Japan Science & Technology Agency (Japan)
  • Brian O’Leary — Book Information Standards Group (USA)
  • Joy Owango — Training Centre in Communication/AfricArXiv (Kenya)
  • Oya Rieger — ITHAKA S+R (USA)
  • Peter Simon — NewsBank, Inc and NISO Past Chair (USA)
  • Wayne Strickland — National Technical Information Service, NISO Treasurer, NISO DEIA Committee Representative (USA)
  • Simone Taylor — AIP Publishing (USA)
  • Lesley West — ASTM International (USA)
  • Ted Winslow — Straive (USA)

Our thanks to all of them in advance for helping us make NISO Plus 2022 the best it can possibly be!

map of NISO Plus planning and advisory committee members 2022
Map showing location of NISO Plus Planning Committee and Advisory Committee members

Recommended Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *